Do you know what Facebook Malware Warning is?
The appearance of Facebook Malware Warning on your screen does not necessarily mean that there is something wrong with Facebook or your account. The warning you see might be a scam, so before you take any action, you should make sure that what you see is not a fabricated message. We are 99% sure that you will realize that the fake message has been displayed to you. Such scams are usually used to scare users into providing personal details crooks want from them. In this case, it is very likely that crooks want to get your password or convince you to install a malicious piece of software. You can be 100% sure that you have encountered a scam if Facebook Malware Warning has been displayed to you after clicking on a link found below a random Facebook post. Also, there is nothing legitimate about it if you have been redirected to a page with this warning from another website. It should be quite easy to close Facebook Malware Warning in either case – you will just need to close your web browser; however, if it turns out that you see it because there is an untrustworthy application installed on your computer, the fake warning will disappear from your screen only when you disable it.
Specialists say that Facebook Malware Warning might be used to collect information about Facebook users or even steal their passwords. If you are presented with a “Warning Page” claiming that your account might be disabled if you do not “prove this is your page”, you should ignore it completely and do not enter any details (e.g. email, password, and birthday) it asks because your Facebook account will be immediately taken over by cyber criminals. Make sure you do not click on any links Facebook Malware Warning contains too because you might install malicious software on your computer. Of course, you will find out about its entrance when it is too late, i.e. when it has already done serious damage. Scams might promote malicious software that will flood your screen with commercial advertisements. Also, this malicious application might be used to collect personal information. Finally, it might even download and install additional threats on your computer. In other words, only serious problems can arise out of this.
Some users encounter Facebook Malware Warning because they click on a malicious link found among Facebook comments. Others end up on the domain with this fake warning after entering a suspicious website that causes further redirections or find it opened to them after clicking on a random malicious link. Users should no longer see Facebook Malware Warning if they close it and do not repeat the same mistakes, but if it is not true in your case, you should know that there might be an untrustworthy application installed on your computer. It usually turns out that an adware program is the one displaying the fake alert, but it might be some kind of potentially unwanted application too. Untrustworthy applications are usually installed on users’ computers without their knowledge, and it is not something very surprising – the majority of them are distributed in software bundles. If it turns out to be true in your case, it must be removed ASAP in order to close Facebook Malware Warning once and for all.
You should be able to close Facebook Malware Warning like any other window, but it does not mean that it will not be displayed to you again. If it reappears, it means that you visit the same untrustworthy website, click on suspicious links, or there is an untrustworthy application installed on your computer. In our opinion, it is the latter variant if Facebook Malware Warning shows up on your screen periodically. You should inspect all applications installed on your computer and reset the browser displaying this fake warning to default settings. If nothing changes, use an antimalware scanner to perform an in-depth system scan.
Remove Facebook Malware Warning
Delete suspicious applications
- Click Start.
- Click Control Panel.
- Select Add or Remove Programs.
- Select the suspicious application.
- Click Remove.
- Press Win+R and then type Control Panel in the box.
- Click OK.
- Click Uninstall a program.
- Select the application you want to get rid of.
- Click Uninstall.
Reset your web browsers
- Start Internet Explorer.
- Access the Tools menu (press Alt+T).
- Click Internet Options.
- Open the Advanced tab.
- Click Reset.
- Check the Delete personal settings box.
- Click Reset.
- Start Mozilla Firefox.
- Press Alt+H.
- Select Troubleshooting information.
- Click the Refresh Firefox button at the top of the page.
- Click Refresh Firefox in the confirmation window.
- Launch Google Chrome.
- Press Alt+F.
- Click Settings.
- Access the rest of the menu by clicking Advanced.
- Under Reset, click the Reset button.
In non-techie terms:
If you see Facebook Malware Warning, it does not automatically mean that there is something wrong with your Facebook account. In 99% of all cases, this warning is completely fake. It might be displayed to users if they visit an untrustworthy website, get redirected to the domain with the fake warning against their will, click on some kind of suspicious link/advertisement, or have an untrustworthy application (usually, adware) active on their computers.